Welcome!

Here goes…

I’m a brand-new blogger. I read a lot of blogs, but I’ve never thought I had anything original to say, so I didn’t try. But this blog is not about being especially creative or witty. And it’s not about my take on culture or politics.

This blog will be a sort of “travelogue” as I journey with my church family through God’s Word this year. We will be reading one key chapter of the Bible each day, and as I do my reading I’ll share digitally what I do every day with my Bible, a pen, and a Moleskine journal. I’ll type out my observations, points of personal application, and how God speaks through His Word.

I don’t have any special interpretive powers. I don’t claim to know how God will speak to you. But I do know how to read the Word for application, and I do know how God speaks to me. As I share that, maybe it will help you to hear Him, too.

On Sunday, December 30, 2013, hundreds of members of First Baptist Church joined me in making a commitment to read God’s Word every day this year. If you have not yet made that commitment, why not do it now? Let me encourage you along the way in this simple blog. And let’s grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ (2 Peter 3:18).

